ASTE Board Elections

On behalf of the Alaska Society for Technology in Education (ASTE) Board of Directors, we’re excited to announce the newly elected and appointed ASTE board members.  These individuals are joining an amazing team that is making a difference in teaching and learning around our great state. We are a working volunteer Board, and as such we look forward to fulfilling ASTE’s mission of promoting access to technology, connectivity to information resources, and technology integration for all Alaskan learners.


Our newly elected board members are:

President Elect: Amanda Adams

Amanda is currently the South Central Representative on the ASTE Board. She has taught for 15+ years in a wide variety of content areas ranging from ELL to Social Studies to Health with two years as a Technology Integration and Effective Instruction Coach. Amanda is passionate about technology integration for the nurturing of knowledge in children. Currently, Amanda is in her fourth year of teaching online and blended courses for the Kenai Peninsula Borough School District.


Treasurer: Jason Fastenau – Jason is the current ASTE Treasurer, and has also served as the board Secretary for several terms in the past. Jason has been in Alaska as a teacher and technology mentor for the last nineteen years, and is currently the Director of Technology for the Alaska Gateway School District.


Interior Representative: Scott Holmes – I have been a Principal/Teacher in the Alaska Gateway School District for 3 years and have implemented and facilitated a number of digital initiatives within the district. These have included facilitating virtual Instant Challenges, implementing UAV/Drones curriculum, and designing and promoting virtual PLC’s. I would like to be part of this board to increase the amount of collaboration that happens between schools around the state in order to provide students with a richer educational experience.


Southeast Representative: Jon Painter – Jon’s teaching experience ranges from 3rd-12th grade over the span of 20 years.  In 2010 he earned a M.Ed. Educational Technology degree from UAS, and then began working as a technology director and digital integration support person for Petersburg School District. Jon works with teachers to implement new and emerging technology with the goal of supporting teachers at the exact time they need support. His days are spent supporting staff with digital resources, monitoring the network, teaching computer repair, and computer aided drafting and manufacturing.  Using technology to do what was once impossible without it, is his passion.

Appointed Positions:

Advocacy Chair:  Damon Hargraves

Communications Chair:  Ryan Stanley

Secretary : Keith Zamudio (replacing Jon Painter)

At Large Representative: Jodi Mar

Jodi has been teaching on Prince of Wales Island for the last 12 years.  She is currently the Technology Coordinator and a teacher for Klawock City School District.  Her time is split between technology implementation for the district and integrating technology into the classroom.  Jodi works with fellow teachers and staff to provide students with access to technology tools, resources and challenges to help them understand the digital world.  For the past eight years she has been an ASTE member and has attended the yearly conference.  She is honored and excited for this new challenge as an ASTE board member.

ASTE Board Members participate in the governing of the ASTE organization by teleconference and online meetings. Board members and Officers are volunteers for the organization. We have three face to face opportunities each year: after our February conference, our annual Spring Retreat, and before our February conference. Being a member of ASTE provides opportunities for leadership in your educational region.

To find out what region your school is located in view List of Alaska ASTE Regions


Back: BIll Burr, Sam Bourgeois, Amanda Adams, Sam McPhetres, Luke Meinert, Wade Roach,  Jon Kludt-Painter
Middle: Keith Zamudio, Genie Siedler, Jason Fastenau,
Front: Tracie Weisz, Erika Schneider, Cara Heitz, Amanda Duvall, Cathy Anderegg ( not pictured; Thérèse Ashton)

2015-2016 Board of Directors

Bill Burr – President
Luke Meinert – President Elect
Thérèse Ashton- Past President
Jason Fastenau – Treasurer
Jon Kludt-Painter – Secretary

Erika Schneider – Western
Cathy Anderegg- Northern
Sam McPhetres – Southeastern
Tracie Weisz – Interior
Wade Roach – Anchorage
Amanda Adams- Southcentral
Cara Heitz – At Large

Sam McPhetres- iDidaContests
Amanda Duvall – Volunteer Chair
Keith Zamudio- Communications Chair


Brett Hill – Treasurer Support
Genie Siedler – Executive Director


List of ASTE Alaska Regions
This is a list of school districts in Alaska by region. ASTE is open to membership K-20 for any individual living in the state of Alaska.

Past Presidents
ASTE has benefited from an impressive list of visionary individuals who have helped to transform teaching and learning throughout Alaska.